Log in

Our Mission

The purpose of the Ophthalmic Anesthesia Society is to ensure that the highest quality anesthesia care is provided to patients undergoing cataract and other ophthalmic surgical procedures.  To this end, the Ophthalmic Anesthesia Society is dedicated to ensuring that anesthesiologists, ophthalmologists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, and other professional personnel, are provided with the training and education necessary for the provision of the highest quality ophthalmic anesthesia services.

OAS is committed to maintaining the team approach to ophthalmic anesthesia care, and to promoting a greater understanding among ophthalmologists, anesthesiologists, and nurse anesthetists with regard to the collaborative roles of each team member in the provision of quality anesthesia services. We serve as a forum for the exchange of ideas relating to patient care; will promote and encourage scientific endeavors among members related to the provision of high quality care; will facilitate the exchange of new scientific innovations in the provision of ophthalmic anesthesia services; and will develop questions for quality assurance for ophthalmic anesthesia.

Our History

The Ophthalmic Anesthesia Society held its first scientific meeting in November 1987; it was incorporated as a nonprofit organization in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 1988.

Founding Officers and Directors: Robert F. Hustead MD, President, Alan T. Zimbard MD, Vice President, Edward Wade MD, Secretary, Don Hirschman CRNA, Treasurer. Directors: Randolf Harvey CRNA, David J. McIntyre MD, Stephen A. Obstbaum MD, and William Spalding CRNA. The second scientific meeting was held in Houston, November 1988.

Copyright © 2023 Ophthalmic Anesthesia Society. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software